Challenge #1: Arabic letters

One of the challenges I am giving myself (for fun) is to learn the Arabic alphabet. I started yesterday and the first stumbling block was realizing that I have to write the letters from right to left. Second stumbling block was learning to pronounce the letters. Some of the sounds are similar to each other (for an English/Czech speaker) so after about 10 audio recordings I managed to get the differences straight in my head.

Halfway through the car-ride I realized I was writing invisible Arabic letters in the air when she asked me what I’m swishing my fingers about for. She was thoroughly perplexed as you can imagine when I told her I was writing Arabic letters.

I was positively surprised to find there weren’t as many letters as I had imagined!

Leave a Reply

